Inspiration Through a Dog

26 Jun

Today, I found my purpose. Fanny is the reason for this and now I am eternally grateful.

Fanny was scolded by Stephen. It wasn’t just a regular scold, but a mean and self diminishing one. I swore I saw a tear form in the corner of Fanny’s eye. I was actually waiting to see her break into a Taylor Swift song it was that sad!

Fanny sulked in the office for hours, which is odd, because she is no fan of Janna. (Janna thinks she is the alpha female but Fanny disagrees.).I walked by more than a couple of times, kind of like the regular drive bys of Tcam’s house. (But then again, Fanny didn’t claim to be scrapbooking.) Nothing could turn that frown upside down. Ieven tried doing my stand up comedy, my Laurie impression, and even my Arkansas impression. It didn’t phase Fanny at all.

When I got off of work, I booked it to the office. There laid Fanny, depressed, boring…a lot like a platypus. So I pulled a dog treat out of her doggie box. “Fanny…you wanna cookie?” She didn’t budge. “Fanny, I promise this will make everything better. It’s what I eat when I wallow.” She looked at me, almost testing me. So I did it. I licked the dog bone. Fanny’s head shot up! “I promise you, Fanny. I’m already feeling better!” So I licked it again. I couldn’t stop myself. It was addicting! (I only licked it twice.) Fanny ran up to me, tail wagging and all. I said “Now Fanny, if I give you this, you need to open up to me. Heart to heart. It’s better to share your pain than to hold it in.”

After Fanny gulped it down, she opened up. She felt betrayed Stephen would talk to her the way he did. She felt humiliated, mocked, and embarrassed. She even compared it to my “Walk of Shame.” After many tears and a box of tissues, I hugged her, held her paw and explained that everything was going to be ok. I told her that the only reason Stephen would do that only to teach her to be better, so he could love her more. But what she needed to do for the time being, forgive and forget.

Things seem to be looking up now, and Fanny is slowly letting the grudge go. And as for me, I’ve decided I don’t want to be a grief therapist for people…I want to be a grief therapist for dogs.

I have dropped my registration at BYU and I plan to attend Barkingham Acres Community College. It’s in Juvinille, Arkansas. Just right outside El Dorado. I have a full ride scholarship, so Mom and Dad don’t have to worry about paying me through school.

Another reason why I’m the favorite.

3 Responses to “Inspiration Through a Dog”

  1. Jen howell June 26, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    That was halirious! Very sweet too! I love it!!!!!

  2. Jen howell June 26, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Wish I could been there to see it – Fanny’s lucky to have you around!

  3. Lyle Trammell June 27, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Noodle,

    I think Rocky Road ice cream would cure all the ills of dogs, cats, people etc.
    Please advise me if the ice cream works on fanny

    Goose

Leave a Reply

