Postponed Happily Ever After

22 Jul

I found myself wandering back to “Der Sportstore” one day and there he was. In flesh and blood the same man that had been on my mind since my first encounter. I went to the sweatshirts and started looking for the perfect gift for my dear brother’s birthday. Dream boy walked by and then walked up to me and asked me if he could help me. Suddenly, at the same time, our eyes sparked. It was like we both knew each other’s intentions. (To share names and numbers.) He asked me what exactly I was looking for, and I used the little brother’s birthday excuse. It worked like a charm. We looked at different items and small talked for over fifteen minutes. Turned out he was a graduate from the University of Utah (perfect!) with a major in bio chem. He traveled the states rock climbing, then bought a boat and sailed for two years. That puts him at about 28 years old. (10 years difference is not a big deal.) And then I shared that I was going to the Y and I wanted to major in sociology. It felt like love from the beginning. I left the store with a sense of accomplishment.

One problem. I still didn’t have a name.

The next day I picked up the sweatshirt and he wasn’t there. But the co worker that had been there the day before as well, recognized me. As I signed my receipt he said “Thank you very much, Lexi. I hope your brother enjoys his birthday gift. At least that’s what I’m assuming it’s for.” I didn’t mention to this co worker that it was for my brother. Only one solution. They had talked about me. (Heavens open and angels singing.)

I left later that week, never to know my lover’s name. But I’ve got connections working on this little, but pretty much big deal case. Once I get the name, it will be a huge break through.

Maybe I don’t want to find out the name. Maybe it can be my own “Serendipity” love story. But until then I will remember him as my “Summer Love” and just call him “Danny Zuko.”

2 Responses to “Postponed Happily Ever After”

  1. Jen howell July 22, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    love it!! too fun!!!

  2. Jen howell July 22, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    oh…young love…so fun!

Leave a Reply

