Orange Ya Glad…

2 Feb

It was my first night to hang out with Natasha, an old friend from way back when. We had plans to go to Sammys and she then invited me to go tanning with her. Of course I wasn’t going to pass up that opportunity…I’m a girl, I need some color. But I couldn’t do this without my dear friend Keaton. Keaton is a Haitian, dark skinned, tennis player. He is like a little brother and I need him there for moral support, like I am there for him at his matches. When we arrived at the tanning salon, we got there right as it was closing. Because we had coupons that expired that day, they let us stay anyway. Oh and did I mention it was a spray tan?

The woman was getting us set up when she turned to us and asked “so is it all three of you guys getting a spra….ohhhh. Nevermind…” We all just laughed because we all knew that she realized she was asking Keaton if he wanted a spray tan. After Natasha had her tan done, it was my turn. Both of the girls working agreed that I should get the medium, so it would be noticeable. I don’t think they realized I was as white as I was. I’m like a porcelain doll…is that not obvious?  I had never done this before in my life, and I had no idea what to expect. The uncomfortableness from the small machine and the toxic fumes was not something I’d like to never experience again. After I got out I expected immediate results. They then informed me in ten hours that my  tan would show up. They reminded me multiple times “do NOT shower until your 24 hour wait is up.” So I was set to go with my invisible tan!

When I awoke this morning I hopped out of bed to check out my new tan. There I was…sleepy eyed and orange. I flipped on the light to get a better look…yep, the orange was definitely there. I had no idea what to do! So despite what the girls at the tanning salon said, because their judgements didn’t seem to be reliable,  I hopped in the shower and scrubbed and scrubbed and scrubbed. I think I did a pretty darn good job, because I no longer look as orange, but I definitely have an orange tint.

I have learned my lesson. Spray tans are not for this gal. I also learned that beauty shouldn’t be considered something you get from a machine. Beauty is where your heart lies. And my heart definitely doesn’t lie at a tanning salon….or a spray tan machine for that matter…

 

Leave a Reply

